Not many people here at Penn are from Minnesota, but if you ever happen to visit, you HAVE to go to one of my favorite places in the whole world: The Walker Art Center. I was lucky enough to have it walking distance from my high school, so I would often go during school or after school. Not many people know about it, but it is one of the most visited modern art museums ever, and there is a huge sculpture garden adjacent to it (including the iconic cherry and the spoon!) One great piece in their permanent collection is the big self-portrait Chuck Close does with paint. It looks like a photograph and it is AWESOME in person. I just miss this place and there are some new exhibits I have not yet seen. I hope to frequent some museums and galleries here in Philly soon too!

1413992853self_portrait__with_cigarette_______chuck_close__hi_res___250_000

Check out the collections here:

http://www.walkerart.org/collections

